Resolution Requires Strength of Purpose – Probably

2 01 2011

Is that a resolution in your pocket or are you pleased to see me?

I made no resolutions for the New Year. The habit of making plans, of criticizing, sanctioning and molding my life, is too much of a daily event for me.

Anais Nin (Writer, Diarist, was involved in female erotica)

Day 2 of 2011 has dawned and the thorny issue of New Years Resolutions has meant that I find myself trying hard to come up with realistic goals for this year.

I would like to procrastinate less, write more and not become irritated by the aspects of life that I have no control over, but that just seems to be a wimpy reaction to trying to maintain some sort of structure.

So I feel that something more concrete is needed so that I don’t let 2011 slip away into the void.

So here are my resolutions for the Year of the Rabbit (and they are in no particular order – that would imply structure and considered thought):

  • I will stop being critical of Sarah Palin, Glenn Beck and Fox News. They’re not going away, they are far more important than me and they are backed by forces beyond my comprehension. Best just to realise that I don’t agree with everything they say and move on to concerns I can do something about.
  • I will stop trying to persuade certain members of my family that movement towards a more sustainable and environmentally friendly lifestyle is worthwhile. As long as I make every effort to recycle correctly, use Mass Transportation as much as possible and keep myself informed, then it’s completely up to them as to how they deal with the polar bears in their garden.
  • I will stop thinking that Steve Jobs is a egomaniac who wants the consumer to only use his products. All great men have vision and drive, Steve is one of them and it doesn’t matter if I am not a fan of his corporation. Millions of people are and I don’t have to use iTunes if I don’t want to.
  • I will stop drinking Dunkin Donuts coffee. It’s rubbish, takes 47 minutes to cool down and forces me to the toilet 3 minutes after it is cool enough to drink. There are other options available – if not, then one can always drink water.
  • I shall attempt to understand the continued lure of reality television. Except for Jersey Shore and anything that hints at being connected to sex whilst really being about paying desperate people small amounts of money for objects they would rather not sell (Pawn Stars).
  • I shall pay more attention to the New England Patriots. They are quite good apparently and they have done well in the regular season (which started in September and will be over today). You have to admire any team that can play 16 games and still be fresh.
  • I will stop relying on the BBC for all my accurate news. So many other media outlets, so many points of view – why should I limit myself to an autonomous public service broadcaster?
  • I will stop eating junk food.
  • I will cut down on the amount of time I spend on Facebook and actually speak to my friends or attempt to create a physical social network as opposed to a virtual one.
  • I will stop worrying about how few followers I have on Twitter.
  • I will stop being openly dismissive of anyone who plays Farmville. Same goes for anybody who feels the need to constantly tell me where they are and where they have “checked in.”
  • I shall not change the channel during commercial breaks in programs that I want to watch. You never know when you might miss a genuinely funny line from ‘Two & A Half Men’ that doesn’t rely on Charlie Sheen making a sexual innuendo or taking the piss out of his on-screen brother.
  • I shall not get annoyed when people use the word “like’ in every sentence.
  • I shall not look down on people who drink Lite Beer.
  • I shall not pass judgement on Lindsay Lohan and/or Paris Hilton.
  • I will listen to an entire Lady Gaga LP.
  • I shall not assume that football/soccer is the only sport that really matters. There is also cricket.
  • I will play Red Dead Redemption – once I decide to take it out of the box.
  • I will stop looking for pictures of semi-naked women to put on my blog in the hopes that it might drive more traffic to my random musings.

  • I will get my new blog on T-Shirts and Popular Culture out of the conception stage and into reality.

That should be enough to be getting on with.

Wish me luck!

Bugger! Two down, several to go.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

