Paul Whiskin : Rest In Peace

21 07 2010

My friend died today.

After several months fighting leukemia, he passed away, apparently peacefully.

The only Park Lad that could still consider the Brookmans his local.

Paul “Whiskas” Whiskin was not a leader of men, never tried to be the life and soul of the party, was not someone who sought the spotlight.

Whiskas was, simply, just Paul Whiskin.

Someone to have in your corner, to share a beer and a laugh with. Someone to talk football or cricket with, someone who didn’t judge you on your opinion, someone with whom a discussion was a pleasant experience – punctuated by a laugh that would have done Sid James proud.

When you went out with Paul, you never worried what he might do or say, knew that he was unlikely to get into an argument or be asked to leave a bar. I wish that I could say the same of myself.

He wasn’t my best friend, he was my mate. We went and saw Jesus Jones and The Macc Lads, we went to Barnet games together (when I wasn’t more preoccupied with watching Spurs), we played in the same football team and we roomed together on an unforgettable Park Lad holiday in Majorca in 1990 – his impression of a helicopter still brings a smile to my face.

I have many fond memories of Whiskas: too much San Miguel in Santa Ponsa, his love for roast potatoes, the fact that he was known as Lonsdale to the Barnet boys and that laugh.

I do like a .......

Life wasn’t always kind to him, but he dealt with it in the only way he knew how.

By being solid and dependable, by not wanting any frills or unneccessary drama.

By just being Paul Whiskin.

Thanks for being a friend Paul, thanks for making me laugh. I hope that wherever you are, there are enough roast potatoes.

Rest In Peace.

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 07 2010
KC

Well Done!

23 07 2010
Dan Whiting

Great article. Lonsdale was a legend!

23 07 2010
Fit Finlay

I did nt even know “Lonsdales” real name till my freind Paul rang me and told me he d died.Im still surprised how hard it hit me.

I had the pleasure of his company many times down the years.He s well worthy of a proper minutes silence at the start of the seasons opener.Somebody should get on that.

Rest in peace my freind.

30 07 2010
Mark W

I knew ‘Lons’ for over 30 years, we were good friends at Chancellors School and I saw him in Hammersmith Hospital only a few weeks ago waiting for a bone marrow transplant which we all thought gave him hope of more time with us than just the few short weeks it turned out to be. We kept in touch over the years mainly through the Barnet FC connection. Your description of Paul is spot on, I was totally gutted when I heard but fortunately I have lots of very funny and memorable moments to remember him by as anyone who knew him well would have.

5 08 2010
Bev

Release me,let me go
I have so many things to see and do,
I thank you for the love you have shown,
But now its time I traveled alone.
So grieve a while for me, If grieve you must,
Its only for a time that we must part,
so bless the memories within your heart.
I wont be far away,for my life goes on…In Heaven.
{RIP 2010}

19 08 2013
Hmmph (@GordonMer)

Wow, just came across this. Was good friends with Paul at school and your description of him fits perfectly the guy I used to know – totally down to earth.

Leave a Reply

