You Know Who You Are……….

7 12 2009

Like

adjective: similar, alike, akin, same, corresponding, equivalent

 adverb: in same way

preposition:  in manner of 

verb: to be fond of, be attached to, enjoy, relish, appreciate, be partial to, to care for, love, approve of, prefer, choose

noun: equal, counterpart, peer, match, twin, liking, preference, partiality, prediction.

When I am not immersed in the world of music the Ipod elves provide for me, I find that snatches of conversation float past my ears.

Usually this happens when I waiting patiently in line for my tall latte provided by the Big Evil Coffee Corporation.

I normally ignore them, pay them no attention unless I hear words that are related to something I am interested in – sport, music, politics or the latest attempt by George Lucas to squeeze money out of a galaxy far, far away.

 I am not eavesdropping, I couldn’t  care less about what you did for dinner last night or where you are going on holiday.

But, sometimes, the butchering of the English language by those for whom it is their FIRST language just makes me slightly irritated.

I have noticed that the word “like” has achieved a level of use that goes against the guidelines set by the Oxford English Dictionary.

I will give you an example of the conversation that assaulted my aural facilities this morning. I have not indicated gender to protect their identity.

  • Individual 1 – “so, like, it was a totally bummed out scene, like, she doesn’t, like, get what I am about.”
  • Individual 2 -“like, yeah, like its like she can’t understand, like, why we, like, even go to college”
  • Individual 1 – “like, I even told her that, like, there was no like room for her in the car”
  • Individual 2 – “anyway, like did you see (name deleted) like checking you out last night”
  • Individual 1 – “totally, I really like him.”

Then my coffee, like, arrived and I left the establishment.

This is not supposed to be a rant about the correct way to speak or even a lecture from an Englishman about using language properly.

I understand slang, I am down with the kids.

I use phrases myself that people don’t understand or become annoyed by. I have even found myself using the word “like” in the wrong context.

But the word “like” is used so casually today that it is almost thrown into conversation subconsciously. As if the word has no real meaning, a replacement for a short pause.

How would Shakespeare used the word? What about the inspiring speeches of Churchill? Or the oratory of JFK?

Would the great works of fiction or the classic movies (that aren’t related to teen culture – they are a lost cause) be improved if they were updated to use “like” as we do today?

Like, It was like, the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of like wisdom, it was the age like of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it like was the epoch of incredulity,….” *
Or perhaps even “”Dave, this , like, conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Like, Goodbye, Dude.”**
Or maybe I should just concentrate on my own life, instead of listening to snatches of others!
Ipod elves, please protect me from the real world……………
* Opening line from A Tale of Two Cities by Chuck Dickens
** Spoken by HAL 9000 in 2001: A Space Odyssey, directed by Stan “The Man” Kubrick
 
Actions

Information

One response

8 12 2009
Nate Homan

Darth Vader: There is, like no escape. Don’t make me like totally destroy you. Luke, you do not yet realize your importance. You have like only begun to discover your power. Join me, and I will like seriously complete your training. With our combined strength, we can really like end this destructive conflict and bring like order to the galaxy.
Luke Skywalker: I’ll never join you, bro!
Darth Vader: If you only knew the super sweet power of the dark side. Like for real, Obi-wan never told you what happened to your father.
Luke Skywalker: He told me enough, man! He told me you killed him.
Darth Vader: Naw dude. I am your father.

like totally watch Clueless or one of those early ’90’s teen flicks if the over usage of like pisses you off. drop me a line some time. my email is nate.homan1@gmail.com

peace dawgy and may the force be like totally with you
-Nate Homan

Leave a Reply

