Living On Shuffle……..An Ipod Experiment

4 11 2009

I have over 8,000 items on my 80 GB Ipod, which equates to 26 days of continuous music.

Should I feel the urge, I could listen to music on a 24 hour basis for just under 4 weeks. I would probably go deaf or insane, but the option is there if I decided to walk this path.

I have purchased through Itunes 1,345 items, just over 4 days worth. I would be lying if I said that I have listened to everything that I have bought,  as I scroll down the list there are vast tracts of empty columns denoting play count etc.

I also have access to ;

  •  2 films (Blues Brothers and Big Lebowski),
  •  19 music videos (which includes Duran Duran, Nickelback, Gorillaz, Slipknot and Fatboy Slim)
  •  11 TV shows – 3 of which are ones that I bought (Dr Who and Top Gear), the others are ones downloaded by my better half when her laptop was up the creek.

In other words, I don’t really have any idea what is on my Ipod anymore. And some of the purchases may have been made under the influence of alcohol.

I am probably not alone.

The problem is that having access to so much instant musical content doesn’t actually make me any happier. I can sometimes scroll through the lists of artists, playlists, albums and compilations for minutes at a time….becoming increasingly irritated as I fail to find what I am in the mood for.

So I end up listening to the same stuff again and again (Marillion, AC/DC, Porcupine Tree and Lemon Jelly).

Very occasionally I remember what I have on the device and I actually use it as its maker intended…..as a portable music library.

But then I get bored again and revert to my previous Ipod inertia.

The thing is, I have actually convinced myself that I have an eclectic musical collection and a varied array of styles and genres which make up a fully rounded audio personality.

But I don’t. I have lots of music by the same artists (292 songs by Marillion!), lots of odd little things from compilations and a whole heap of random stuff that I have lost track of.

Again, I am probably not alone.

So this week, I have decided to let the little elves that work inside the machine take over and just leave it on shuffle.

Of course, doing something like this is no fun if you don’t note down what actually plays…………after all, with over 8,000 songs to choose from the chances of hearing the same song twice is fairly minimal.

Or am I expecting too much from the Apple Elves?

First song up…………Pink Floyd “On The Run”

(To Be Continued) 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 12 2009
AC/DC Abruzzo

AC/DC back in Europe in 2010!!!

16 12 2009
GB Pics

Very nice article! I will share this!

Leave a Reply

